Time left to complete order
Tchaikovsky's Fourth

Tchaikovsky's Fourth

Tchaikovsky's Fourth

Tchaikovsky's Fourth

Fri, Nov 30 - Sun, Dec 2, 2012
  • Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Heinz Hall


Manfred Honeck, conductor
Michael Rusinek, basset clarinet


Mason Bates: Mothership   
Wolfgang Amadé Mozart: Concerto in A major for Clarinet and Orchestra, K. 622         
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4

About This Performance

The concert begins with Composer of the Year Mason Bates’ Mothership, commissioned and premiered by the YouTube Symphony at the Sydney Opera House.  Bates says this “fast-paced opener imagines the orchestra as a mothership that is 'docked' by several virtuosic soloists.” Mr. Rusinek performs Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto on the basset clarinet, marking the first time this work is heard in Pittsburgh on the original instrument for which it was composed. Then, immerse yourself in Tchaikovsky’s vibrant Symphony No. 4.

Click here to learn more about the Composer of the Year program. Click here to see a video of Mothership as performed by the YouTube Symphony Orchestra.

Michael Rusinek
Manfred Honeck


Explore & Engage

Concert Prelude: PSO Resident Conductor Lawrence Loh interviews PSO Composer of the Year Mason Bates
Free and open to all ticket holders; on stage, one hour prior to the concert

In the lobby: Browse through displays and exhibits about your PSO, composers, works, and more…

Learn more about the Explore & Engage program



    For personal assistance selecting accessible seats or for more information about accessibility for a person with a disability, please contact Customer Service at 412-392-4900
Map of Heinz Hall