Time left to complete order
Tchaikovsky's Winter Dreams

Tchaikovsky's Winter Dreams

Tchaikovsky's Winter Dreams

Tchaikovsky's Winter Dreams

Fri, Dec 14 - Sun, Dec 16, 2012
  • Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Heinz Hall


Arild Remmereit, conductor
Gil Shaham, violin


George Walker: Sinfonia No. 4, “Strands” (PSO co-commission)   
Wolfgang Amadé Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 5, “Turkish”
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 1, “Winter Dreams”

About This Performance

“[Shaham is] one of the world’s great masters of the instrument” –The Lafayette

Multiple Grammy Award-winning violinist Gil Shaham returns!  Mozart’s Fifth Violin Concerto begins with a sweet melody and ends with hints of military-Turkish music, giving the piece its nickname.  Pulitzer Prize-winning composer George Walker was co-commissioned by the PSO and three other orchestras to write “Strands.”  And, composed when Tchaikovsky accepted his first teaching position at Moscow Conservatory, “Winter Dreams” is one of this Russian composer’s earliest and masterful works.

Explore & Engage

Concert Prelude: PSO Assistant Conductor Fawzi Haimor interviews composer George Walker
Free and open to all ticket holders; on stage, one hour prior to the concert

In the lobby: Browse through displays and exhibits about your PSO, composers, works, and more…

Learn more about the Explore & Engage program


    For personal assistance selecting accessible seats or for more information about accessibility for a person with a disability, please contact Customer Service at 412-392-4900
Map of Heinz Hall