Time left to complete order
Mozart's Symphony No. 40

Mozart's Symphony No. 40

Mozart's Symphony No. 40

Mozart's Symphony No. 40

Fri, Jan 25 - Sun, Jan 27, 2013
  • Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Heinz Hall


Michael Francis, conductor
Christian Tetzlaff, violin


Wolfgang Amadé Mozart: Symphony No. 40, K. 550
Antonín Dvořák: Violin Concerto
Bedřich Smetana: "Sárka," No. 3 from Má vlast
Leoš Janáček: Taras Bulba

About This Performance

“[Tetzlaff] lets the music live, breathe and sing with a directness few can equal today” –The Guardian

British conductor Michael Francis makes his PSO debut with a Mozart favorite and works by three Czech composers.  Mozart’s 40th is easily one of the most recognizable and popular pieces of classical music and a joy to hear live in concert.  The highly sought-after soloist, Christian Tetzlaff, debuts with the PSO in Dvořák’s Violin Concerto.  “Sárka” is one of six movements from Smetana’s beloved Má vlast or “My Country.”  Janáček’s symphonic rhapsody orchestrates the famed story of Taras Bulba, his sons and their journeys in the Ukraine.

Explore & Engage

Concert Prelude: Assistant conductor Fawzi Haimor interviews conductor Michael Francis
Free and open to all ticket holders; on stage, one hour prior to the concert

Browse through displays about Dvořák’s life and works, as well as musical nationalism.

Learn more about the Explore & Engage program


    For personal assistance selecting accessible seats or for more information about accessibility for a person with a disability, please contact Customer Service at 412-392-4900
Map of Heinz Hall