Time left to complete order
Elgar, Grieg & Ravel

Elgar, Grieg & Ravel

Elgar, Grieg & Ravel

Elgar, Grieg & Ravel

Fri, May 17 - Sun, May 19, 2013
  • Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Heinz Hall


Yan Pascal Tortelier, conductor
Valentina Lisitsa, piano


Osvaldo Golijov: Sidereus (PSO co-commission)      
Edvard Grieg: Piano Concerto   
Maurice Ravel: Rapsodie Espagnole   
Edward Elgar: In the South, “Alassio”   

About This Performance

“Valentina Lisitsa combines an imperious sweep with aristocratic poise and sensitivity”
Music Web International

Ukrainian-born pianist and YouTube phenom Valentina Lisitsa performs Grieg’s much-loved Piano Concerto.  The second half of the program features a musical trip to the Mediterranean.  One of Ravel’s first works for orchestra, Rapsodie Espagnole, was inspired by the Spanish folk tunes sung by his mother when Ravel was a child.  Alassio is a town on the Italian Riviera where Elgar and his family vacationed and is the inspiration for In the South.  Elgar depicts the awe-inspiring landscape in this concert overture.

Click here to see video of Valentina Lisitsa on YouTube.

Click here to read more on Valentina Lisitsa's newly released set of Rachmaninov's concertos.

Explore & Engage

Themes and programs that give you a deeper, more meaningful and more personally relevant connection to the music!

Learn more about the Explore & Engage program


Note: All services may not be available at all performances. Click the link above for accessible performance schedule or contact customer service for further assistance.
Map of Heinz Hall